Posted in Uncategorized

A leaf out of my book…

Last year was a bit shit, to be honest. We went through a mass restructure at work, which was pretty unsettling. I finally landed a new role in a new library and things (fingers crossed) are starting to sort themselves out. What pissed me off the most, weirdly, was my inability to concentrate. Normally, my go-to in any stressful situation is books. But I just couldn’t read. At all. In fact in the whole of December I only managed to read two books; Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass (although as this was a book group book I had no choice really) and a really weird little graphic novel called The Gigantic Beard that was Evil. Pathetic. This also meant that I failed my Goodreads Reading Challenge, falling short by seven books 😦 Gutted.

Last year I recommended that the library service purchase a copy of What Milo Saw by Virginia MacGregor. I had spotted it on Fantastic Fiction and the reviews on Amazon looked pretty promising.

The synopsis reads: Nine-year-old Milo Moon has retinitis pigmentosa: his eyes are slowly failing and he will eventually go blind. But for now he sees the world through a pin hole and notices things other people don’t. When Milo’s beloved gran succumbs to dementia and moves into a nursing home, Milo soon realises there’s something wrong at the home. So with just Tripi, the nursing home’s cook, and Hamlet, his pet pig, to help, Milo sets out on a mission to expose the nursing home and the sinister Nurse Thornhill. What more could you want from a book?

I was thrilled when they agreed. The book arrived at work. Then my Grandma got diagnosed with Alzheimer’s. I put off reading it for a long time, knowing it was probably a bit too close to home, but after a few months I decided to give it a go. Oh god. One chapter in and my husband had to wrestle it away from me, amidst floods of tears. Far too close to home. Lesson learnt. I’ve only had to ever abandon one other book in my life. I can’t remember the name of it now, but it was completely depressing, and once the main character got lynched mid story, I decided life was just too short! However, this just felt like another failure.

This year I’ve decided to give myself a bit of a break. I’m still signed up for the Goodreads reading challenge but if I don’t achieve it, oh well. Hopefully I’ll get to read Milo soon, but what’s the rush?

 

Author:

A self-confessed book nerd and lover of libraries, new to blogging.

Leave a Reply

