Posted in book review

Goodreads

goodreads

Goodreads is a fantastic resource for book lovers. Using the search facility you can find pretty much any book with ratings and comments from other readers.You only need to rate a few books yourself to get tailored recommendations, and it’ll even let you know when authors you love have published something new! In terms of my annual Reading Challenge (targets set by myself every year), Goodreads helps me keep pace, giving me percentages of books left and little words of encouragement along the way.

Most excitingly… I actually completed my challenge this year!!! Yay!

Fun facts about this year’s reads:

  • I have read 61 books : 18,838 pages! Phew!
  • Shortest book (48 pages): The book with no pictures by B.J.Novak. I enjoyed this clever little book designed to be shared with children. With no pictures, parents read silly sentences and make daft noises (blork, blurff) to entertain. Clever really. 3/5
  • Longest book (634 pages): Heartstone by C.J. Sansom. Another of his series (Dark Fire) made my top 10. This one is also fabulous, set at the time of Henry VIII’s infamous Mary Rose. One more to go… 4/5
  • Book I’ve read with the highest rating on GoodreadsWonder by R.J. Palacio. 321,143 people rated this an average 4.42/5 and I totally agree! A lovely book about a little boy -Auggie- who has a profound facial disfigurement. Attending school for the first time was always going to be a challenge, but I found this to be a wonderfully uplifting story. 4/5
  • My favourite books of the year (5*)All the light we cannot see by Anthony Doerr, Daisy in Chains by Sharon Bolton, My name is Leon by Kit de Waal, The beautiful dead by Belinda Bauer, The ghosts of heaven by Marcus Sedgwick, Britt-Marie was here by Fredrik Backman, Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith, The graveyard book by Neil Gaiman, The lie tree by Frances Hardinge. All incredible reads.
  • My least favourite book of the year (1*): was Maestra by L.S. Hilton. To be honest, I just didn’t understand the hype surrounding this book. I didn’t enjoy the story and I really, really hated the main character. Not for me.

Bring on 2017!

Author:

A self-confessed book nerd and lover of libraries, new to blogging.

Leave a Reply

