Posted in book review

#10 The girl before

girl before

I was quite excited when J. P. Delaney’s psychological debut thriller finally arrived for me at work. I’m always dubious when a book is dubbed the next best The girl on the train (incidentally a book that I did love long before the whirlwind…) but I was willing to give it a shot.

The girl before is a story of two halves: then: Emma and now: Jane. What do they have in common? One Folgate Street, London. A minimalist, uber-high-tech rental property designed by award winning architect, Edward. No need for possessions. An opportunity to forget your past. But what really happened to Emma?

As you would expect from a proper psychological thriller, the story twists and turns throughout, so you never really know where you are. Ignoring the sex-scenes (which I found a bit cringe-worthy) I really enjoyed this book. Just the right amount of creepy. I read the whole book in two sittings; I’m suitably knackered but satisfied. I’ve just read that they’re making it into a film, I’m interested to see if it works.

3.75/5

Author:

A self-confessed book nerd and lover of libraries, new to blogging.

Leave a Reply

