Posted in book review

#22 Ragdoll

ragdoll

I was super excited to get my hands on this one! The premise of Daniel Cole’s first thriller- Ragdoll– ticked all the boxes for me. Dark, pacy, a bit gruesome…

The London police- lead by infamous Detective William ‘Wolf’ Fawkes, and Detective Emily Baxter- are called to the scene of a macabre, twisted killing. A ‘ragdoll’ is hanging from the ceiling; compiled of six murder victims crudely stitched together.  When the killer releases the names of his next six victims to the press, plus the days that they will meet their demise, Wolf, Baxter and the team face a race against time. Who is the Ragdoll killer? The clock is ticking…

I absolutely LOVED this book. I felt that the storyline was strong and gripping throughout. I couldn’t put it down. I’m always a fan of books that jump back and forth in time, slowly filling in the gaps, and this didn’t disappoint. The characters and their relationships were really well rounded- particularly Wolf. Daniel Cole describes him as a mix between Captain Mal of Firefly and Sawyer from Lost (what’s not to love?!) He reminds me a little of Cormoran Strike in Robert Galbraith’s books too.

There were moments of perfect black humour, which for me offset the more gruesome parts (which at times really were horrific) and had me laughing out loud in the staff room (the last time I recall this happening was with Belinda Bauer’s Rubbernecker .) It’s been ages since I read a really good thriller, but this was definitely worth the wait. I’ve already recommended it to pretty much everyone that will listen. And I’ve just read that he’s landed a three book and television deal. Yay. Bring on 2018.

5/5

Check out Goodreads‘ 2017 Mystery & Thriller week, including the 100 top rated mysteries ever (as voted by readers). Does your favourite make the list?

Author:

A self-confessed book nerd and lover of libraries, new to blogging.

Leave a Reply

